Start Planning
Switzerland

Switzerland Public Holidays 2019

This page contains a national calendar of all 2019 public holidays. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your canton’s calendar.

Date Day Holiday Cantons
1 Jan Tue New Year's Day National
2 Jan Wed Saint Berchtold's Day AG, BE, FR, GL, JU,
LU, OW, SH, TG &
VD
6 Jan Sun Epiphany GR, LU, SZ, TI &
UR
1 Mar Fri Republic Day NE
19 Mar Tue St Joseph's Day GR, LU, NW, SZ, TI,
UR & VS
4 Apr Thu Näfelser Fahrt GL
19 Apr Fri Good Friday National except TI & VS
22 Apr Mon Easter Monday National except NE, SO, VS
& ZG
1 May Wed Labour Day BL, BS, JU, LU, NE,
SH, SO, TG, TI &
ZH
30 May Thu Ascension Day National
10 Jun Mon Whit Monday National except NE, SO, VS
& ZG
20 Jun Thu Corpus Christi National except AR, BL, BS,
BE, GE, GL, NE, SH,
SG, TG, VD & ZH
23 Jun Sun Independence of Jura JU
29 Jun Sat St Peter and St Paul GR & TI
1 Aug Thu National Day National
15 Aug Thu Assumption Day AG, AI, FR, JU, LU,
NW, OW, SO, SZ, TI,
UR, VS & ZG
5 Sep Thu Jeûne genevois GE
16 Sep Mon Day after the Federal Fast VD
22 Sep Sun St Mauritius AI
25 Sep Wed Brother Klaus Festival OW
1 Nov Fri All Saints' Day National except AR, BL, BS,
BE, GE, GR, NE, SH,
TG, VD & ZH
8 Dec Sun Immaculate Conception AG, AI, FR, GR, LU,
NW, OW, SZ, TI, UR,
VS & ZG
24 Dec Tue Christmas Eve GL
25 Dec Wed Christmas Day National
26 Dec Thu St Stephen's Day National except GE, JU, NE,
SO, VS, VD & ZG
31 Dec Tue Restoration Day GE
31 Dec Tue New Year's Eve GL

Choose your canton

Aargau Neuchâtel
Appenzell Ausserrhoden Nidwalden
Appenzell Innerrhoden Obwalden
Basel-Landschaft Schaffhausen
Basel-Stadt Schwyz
Bern Solothurn
Fribourg St. Gallen
Geneva Thurgau
Glarus Ticino
Graubünden Uri
Jura Valais
Luzern Vaud
Zug
Zürich