Start Planning
Saint Berchtold

Saint Berchtold 2020 et 2021

La Saint-Berchtold tombe le 2 janvier de chaque année. La Saint-Berchtold est une tradition datant au moins du XIVe siècle après J.-C. et figure dans les archives historiques non seulement dans certaines parties de la Suisse, mais aussi au Liechtenstein et en Alsace.

AnDateJournéeJour fériéCantons
20202 janvierjeudiSaint Berchtold AG, BE, FR, GL, JU,
LU, OW, SH, TG &
VD
20212 janviersamediSaint Berchtold AG, BE, FR, GL, JU,
LU, OW, SH, TG &
VD

Malgré le “Saint” au nom de la fête, l’histoire ne nous informe d’aucun Saint Berchtold. Le mot peut avoir été ajouté simplement par habitude, car tant d’autres fêtes sont consacrées au souvenir des saints et parce que le sens de “berchtold” est devenu obscur.

Il y a beaucoup de théories sur la façon dont la journée de la Saint Berchtold a debuté. Certains disent que “berchtold” est un vieux mot d’Alemmanic qui signifie “se promener en mendiant de la nourriture”, ce qui implique que les mois d’hiver, affamés ont inspiré le nom.

D’autres disent que cette journée commémore la fondation de Berne par le duc Berchtold V au 12e siècle. On dit que Berne porte le nom de l’ours qu’il a tué lors d’un voyage de chasse, car “berne” en allemand signifie “ours”. D’autres encore nous disent que le nom vient de “Perchta”, une créature féminine, mi-humaine, mi-animale, dont le folklore déclare “le gardien des animaux”.

Cependant, il est probable que “berchtold” est un vieil équivalent allemand de “Epiphanie”. Ce jour était probablement le nom local de la fête catholique romaine de l’Epiphanie, qui a eu lieu le “12ème jour de Noël” pour commémorer le moment où les trois mages ont été pensés avoir rendu visite à l’enfant Jésus. Cette théorie explique pourquoi la célébration de la Saint-Berchtold s’est affaiblie après la réforme suisse, car les protestants ont désapprouvé la célébration de l’Epiphanie. Et l’ajustement de la date au 2 janvier semble avoir été un moyen de compenser la perte d’un jour férié.

Start Planning
Saint Berchtold's Day

Saint Berchtold's Day 2019 and 2020

Saint Berchtold’s Day falls on 2 January each year. Saint Berchtold’s Day is a tradition dating at least to the 14th Century A.D. and is in the historical record not only in parts of Switzerland but also in Liechtenstein and Alsace.

Year Date Day Holiday Cantons
2019 2 Jan Wed Saint Berchtold's Day AG, BE, FR, GL, JU,
LU, OW, SH, TG &
VD
2020 2 Jan Thu Saint Berchtold's Day AG, BE, FR, GL, JU,
LU, OW, SH, TG &
VD

Despite the “Saint” in the name of the holiday, history does not inform us of any Saint Berchtold. The word may have been added simply out of habit, seeing as so many other holidays are dedicated to the remembrance of saints and because the meaning of “berchtold” became obscure.

There are many theories about how Saint Berchtold’s Day got started. Some say “berchtold” is an old Alemmanic word meaning “to walk about begging for food,” implying that the drear, hungry winter months inspired the name.

Others say the day commemorates the founding of Bern by Duke Berchtold V in the 12th Century. It is said that Bern is named after the bear he killed on a hunting trip. And yet others tell us that the name comes from “Perchta,” a feminine, half human half beast creature that folklore declares “the guardian of the animals.”

However, it is likely that “berchtold” is an old High-German equivalent of “Epiphany.” The day was likely the local name for the Roman Catholic feast of Epiphany, which occurred on “the 12th Day of Christmas” to commemorate when the Three Magi were thought to have visited the baby Jesus. This theory accounts for why the celebration of Saint Berchtold’s Day waned following the Swiss Reformation, for Protestants disfavoured celebrating Epiphany. And the tweaking of the date to 2 January seems to have been a way of compensating for the loss of a holiday.

Accept